/    /  DBMS – Architecture

Database Architecture


Illustration Credits:https://sqlmentalist.com/category/sql/page/60/

A design depends on 3 types of DBMS architecture:

  1. Centralized
  2. Decentralized
  3. Hierarchical


A DBMS architecture can be single-tier or multi-tier. An n-tier architecture divides the whole system into a related but independent ‘n’ number of modules, which can be separately modified, altered, changed or replaced. 


In a single-tier DBMS, the person can directly handle the database. The changes here can be made directly. Database designers and programmers mostly use a single-tier DBMS. 


In a 2-tier DBMS, there will be an application present through which the DBMS can be accessed.


The most commonly used architecture to design a DBMS is a 3-tier architecture that separates its tiers from one another and supports the complexity of the users and their way of use of the data present in the database. 


Reference :

Architecture of Database.