/    /  DBMS- Failure Classification

Failure Classification


There are various types of failures that may occur in the system.


a) Transaction Failure: There are two types of errors here.


1. Logical Error: The transaction can’t continue with its normal execution due to some internal condition, like bad input, data not found, overflow or resource limit exceeded.

2. System Error: The system has entered an undesirable state (for example deadlock) as a result of which, a transaction can’t continue with its normal execution.


b) System Crash: There is a hardware malfunction, or a bug in the database software or the operating system, that causes the loss of the content of volatile storage. The content of nonvolatile storage remains intact and is not corrupted.


c) Disk Failure: When a disk block loses its content due to a head crash or failure during a data transfer operation.



Reference Link

Failure Classification